Hi, I’m the Angela behind HonestlyAngela!

1916800_186634473863_6012289_n

I am a 28-year old wife, student, and stay-at-home mom. I grew up in Calgary, AB. Canada, and moved to Sylvan Lake AB. in 2007. Here I met my husband Josh, and we started our little family. Our daughter, Lochlyn, was born on March 5, 2014. We also have a cat named Eeyore who we love and treat as our second child.

37307_410666078863_6180748_n

I attended the University of Calgary and studied Communications and Culture for two years before moving to Sylvan Lake to attend a Christian young adults internship called The Daniel Company. Soon after the internship I met my husband and we decided to make Sylvan Lake our home. Now I am studying online with the hope to complete a bachelor’s degree in Professional Communications. I love staying at home with my baby girl, but I also love writing and hope to make a part-time career out of it in the future.

10514469_10152480553288864_4215108716783283733_n

 

Another one of my loves is fitness!  Except for a few years in High School and university, I have always been active. I started going to the gym regularly about six years ago, and now it is one of my favorite places to escape and have some “me” time. Currently my favorite way to break a sweat is strength training, which I usually pair with some high intensity interval training or other form of cardio.  Although I have been going to the gym for awhile, I still consider myself a newb and I am always learning and trying new things!

I am also always trying new recipes, or creating my own. I hardly ever make anything the same way twice because I have so much fun experimenting and trying to improve on old favorites. It is funny because my mom used to worry that when I moved out of the house I wouldn’t be able to cook, but I learned quickly. My biggest problem is that I am messy and I hate cleaning up after myself. (Josh is awesome and he almost always ends up doing the dishes!)

Some of my other most favorite things are hiking (and backpacking!!!), camping, and pretty much anything that involves getting out to the mountains, or the ocean, or just outdoors in general. If I could have a couple hours all to myself to do whatever I wanted (and my house was already clean) you would find me sitting somewhere quiet and alone, enjoying a cup of coffee and reading a good book.

38168_417524198863_3918357_n

I love the beach and traveling and learning about other cultures. I also love pineapples, cucumbers, sushi, ice cream and … o.k. i love food.  I hate diets!

38168_417524318863_6077788_n

One of my secrets is that I give the people (and pets!) that I am closest to really weird nicknames. In groups and with friends I am quiet and quite an introvert so you wouldn’t expect me to come up with them. Actually I don’t know that you would expect these quirky nicknames to come from anyone. Maybe I will tell them to you sometime. I am a weirdo.

Thank you for taking the time to learn a little bit about me! If you have any questions or comments please contact me at HonestlyAng@gmail.com